Forgotten Land

Forgotten Land is a work made in the idiom of a 'musical 
choreography'. Meaning that all choreography derives directly 
from the music. The musical score itself was commissioned by 
the nationalist government of Japan in 1939. Benjamin Britten 
received a commission to write a score which would be used as 
a part of the celebrations commemorating the 2600th anniversary
of Japans existence. Britten accepted it and wrote a work entitled 
"Sinfonia da Requiem". But the fact that he used latin christian 
liturgical text as an underlying theme, lead to the refusal of his 
composition by the nationalist government of Japan. 

The "Sinfonia da requiem" is divided into three parts: 
Lacrimosa - Weeping, Dies Irae - Gods Wrath and Requiem 
Aeternum - Eternal Rest. This piece is now dedicated to the 
memory of his parents. Benjamin Britten, was born in East Anglia.
A part of England always threatened by the sea. And I have taken 
the idea of the everlasting presence of the ocean as a life giving 
and life taking force, as a main theme for my choreography. 
Another very important source of inspiration for me was the 
famous painting by Edward Munch "Dance of Life" (1899), 
in which the woman in three stages of her life, is very clearly 
present. In close collaboration with the painter John Macfarlane, 
the design for stage and costumes emerged, taking into account 
all these influences...
The work was commissioned by Marcia Haydée, the former 
Primabellerina of the Stuttgart Ballet, and its later artistic director. 
Some very wonderful dancers, who were the 'faces' of the 
Stuttgart Ballet under the direction of John Cranko were in the 
original cast. Among them were Birgitt Keil and Richard Cragun.